Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference (postponed from 2020)

Wednesday, November 2, 2022 to Friday, November 4, 2022
Annual Conference elects delegation to 2020 General and Jurisdictional Conferences

During the 2019 North Alabama Annual Conference, members elected clergy and lay delegates to the 2020 General Conference of the United Methodist Church and the 2020 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference.

General Conference is the top policy-making body of The United Methodist Church. The Southeastern Jurisdictional is one of five Jurisdictional Conferences in the United States that have the role of electing and assigning Bishops in their region.

North Alabama has been allotted 8 delegates (four clergy and four laity) to General Conference and 16 delegates (eight clergy and eight laity) to Jurisdictional Conference. The eight delegates elected to General Conference also serve as delegates to the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference.

For the first time, North Alabama Conference members used electronic voting devices to cast votes. Clergy elected delegates in a total of 13 ballots. Laity elected delegates in a total of nine ballots.

The 2020 North Alabama Delegation includes the following people:

General Conference
Clergy - Glenn Conner (Huntsville First UMC)
Laity - Steve Lyles (Alexander City First UMC; Conference Lay Leader)
Clergy - Dedric Cowser (New Beginnings UMC)
Laity - Pat Meadows (Pleasant Hill UMC - Bessemer)
Clergy - Kelly Clem (Northwest District Superintendent)
Laity - Precious Kufarimai (St. Paul-Triana UMC)
Clergy - Robin Scott (New Church Development & Palmerdale UMC)
Laity - Ann Lee (Guntersville First UMC)
Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference
Clergy - Sherri Reynolds (Southwest District Superintendent)
Laity - Michael Wilder (Guntersville First UMC)
Clergy - Tiwirai Kufarimai (St. Paul Triana UMC)
Laity -Gail Hiett (Geraldine First UMC)
Clergy - Vaughn Stafford (Clearbranch UMC)
Laity -Liz Bowlin (Sheffield First UMC)
Clergy - Mary Henley (Helena UMC)
Laity -Randall Ham (Fort Payne First UMC)
Clergy - Sheri Ferguson (Ministry Health Coordinator, Board of Ordained Ministry)
Laity - Scott Selman (Canterbury UMC; Conference Treasurer)
Clergy - Paul Lawler (Christ Church UMC)
Laity - Howard Rew (Athens First UMC)
Clergy - Brian Erickson (Trinity UMC - Homewood)
Laity - Jacqueline Riggs (Christ Harbor UMC)

As part of the Annual Conference’s closing worship, the newly elected delegation was commissioned and Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett led Conference members and visitors in a prayer for the delegates.

The 2020 General Conference will be May 5-15, 2020, in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The 2020 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference will be July 15-18, 2020, at Lake Junaluska, North Carolina.

Discover, Develop and Deploy Spiritual Leaders to Make Disciples of Jesus Christ for the Transformation of the World.