Message to @umcna.org account holders regarding Google Plus

3/20/2019

A message from Director of Information Technology Pete Banish:

To all @umcna.org account holders,

Google is shutting down Google+ as a social network. This means on April 1, 2019, all Google+ pages, events, and the Google+ profile "tagline" field will be deleted from all @umcna accounts.  Once deleted, your Google+ social media account will no longer exist and people cannot search for you on Google+ or access your profile.

This change in services does not affect any @umcna.org email accounts or other products such as Google Drive, Google Calendar or YouTube channels associated with your @umcna.org account. It only affects the social network Google+.

Below are steps you can take to download any data you have posted on Google+ as well as steps to permanently delete your Google+ profile.

Download all your Google+ data

You can download an archive of all your Google+ data at once, including your Google+ circles, Communities, Streams, and +1’s. Your Google+ archive includes your photos and videos from Google+.

  1. Go to the Download your data page. You might have to sign in. Your available Google+ data will be preselected.
  2. Click Next.
  3. Choose a file type.
  4. Choose how you want your data delivered.
  5. Click Create archive.

To permanently delete your Google+ profile

Follow this easy 5-step guide to permanently delete your Google+ profile.

  1. Log in to your Google+ account.
  2. Click the drop-down menu in the top left corner of the page and select Settings.
  3. Scroll down to Disable Google+ and click Delete your entire Google profile here.
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and check the box next to Required.
  5. Click Remove selected services.

That's it. Your Google+ account is permanently deleted. If you have questions please contact Pete Banish at admin@umcna.org.


comments powered by Disqus
Discover, Develop and Deploy Spiritual Leaders to Make Disciples of Jesus Christ for the Transformation of the World.