Evangelism Team recognizes the 2019 Harry Denman Evangelism Award recipients

August 08, 2019

Each year the North Alabama Conference Evangelism Team recognizes North Alabama Methodists who exhibit unusual and outstanding efforts for their work in Christian evangelism through the presentation of the Harry Denman Evangelism Award. An award for clergy, laity and youth are presented annually during the Annual Conference session.
During the 2019 North Alabama Annual Conference held in June, Evangelism Team chairperson Dr. Tiwirai Kufarimai and Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett presented the clergy award to Rev. Vaughn Stafford, the laity award to Tina Eure and the youth award to Mary Calloway Rogers.
During the team’s presentation, Rev. Kufarimai said, “Evangelism is a way of life that honors what God has done for us; but not limited to us. It is also for everyone and we have been recruited to be the ambassadors of the unmerited, unlimited grace of God.”
He added, “Throughout this conference, there are people who are doing great work for Christ. Harry Denman set an example that we celebrate today through this Evangelism Award.  The letter we send out every year states, ‘The Harry Denman Evangelism Award was begun by the Foundation for Evangelism as a way to honor United Methodist clergy and laity in each Annual Conference who exhibit unusual and outstanding efforts for their work in Christian evangelism.’ The late Dr. Harry Denman was a Birmingham native and distinguished lay evangelist, and we are honored to see this evangelistic DNA still at work in our Conference.”
As the awards were presented, the team also recognized this year’s nominees. They include the following:

  • Clergy nominees: Sally Allocca, Stephanie Arnold, Dave Barnhart, Kenny Baskin, Alex Beaube, Gary Liederbach and Vaughn Stafford
  • Lay nominees: Billy Coleman, Tina Eure and Randall Ham
  • Youth nominee: Mary Calloway Rogers
 Click the video below to watch the entire Evangelism presentation.

Meet each of North Alabama’s 2019 Denman Evangelism Award recipients by viewing a video of their story.

Clergy Award: Rev. Vaughn Stafford, Clearbranch UMC


Laity Award: Tina Eure, Union Chapel UMC

Youth Award: Mary Calloway Rodgers, Tuscaloosa First UMC



Discover, Develop and Deploy Spiritual Leaders to Make Disciples of Jesus Christ for the Transformation of the World.