Nominations now open for COSROW's 2018 Louise Branscomb Barrier Breaker Award

February 15, 2018

The Louise Branscomb Barrier Breaker Award celebrates North Alabama United Methodists who are willing to stand up for the rights of marginalized women and minorities and take risks in their ministries.

For nearly three decades, the North Alabama Conference Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW) annually presents this award to a recipient that best embodies the spirit of the award’s namesake and first recipient, Dr. Louise Branscomb. Its winners have been male and female; clergy and laity; and have worked within all aspects of the church. Their single common denominator is supporting and lifting up the voices of the oft-silenced.

The North Alabama COSROW team invites you to nominate a person who fits the following criteria:

  • A United Methodist who has exhibited dynamic leadership in the local church, the community, district and conference.
  • A person who shows courage and willingness to serve, take risks and stand up for the rights of women and ethnic minority persons.

The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2018. Submit your nominations now at

All nominees will be acknowledged on the floor of Annual Conference and will be distinguished guests to the annual COSROW Breakfast on Monday, June 4, 2018. This year’s breakfast speaker will be Rev. Dr. Adlene Kufarimai, pastor of Haven UMC in the Cheaha District, Conference Director of Mission and Advocacy and Conference Coordinator for Ministry with the Poor.

The winner of the 2018 Louise Branscomb Barrier Breaker Award will be presented to the Annual Conference on Monday, June 4, 2018.

Beginning in 2017, the COSROW team began a project to document the stories of past Louis Branscomb Barrier Breaker Award recipients. A new video of a past recipient will be added each week while nominations are open for this year’s award.

To see the current collection of stories go to

1998 Recipient - Frances Moore

2011 Recipient - Rev. Joe Elmore

1993 Recipient - Betty Copeland

2016 Recipient - Rev. RG Wilson-Lyons

Discover, Develop and Deploy Spiritual Leaders to Make Disciples of Jesus Christ for the Transformation of the World.