Annie Ford and Glynn Wheeler Award

Each year at Annual Conference, the Conference Commission on Archives presents the WHEELER AWARD for Church History and Archives. The award was established in 2011 to recognize and thank Glynn and Annie Ford Wheeler for their years of service and accomplishments in the area of Church History. Their work included local church, conference and the jurisdiction.

Each Annual Conference, the award is presented to a person or persons in our conference who have made outstanding contributions to the preservation and promotion of Church History.


About The Glynn and Annie Ford Wheeler Award for preserving and advancing Church History

Name: Annie Ford and Glynn Wheeler Award
North Alabama Conference Commission on Archives and History
Endowment Fund with earnings to be directed by Commission on Archives and History; earnings to fund an annual award recognizing a person(s) for preserving and advancing church history.


Past Award Recipients:

  • 2011 Caroline Thompson – Trussville First UMC
  • 2012 Dr. Kenneth Johnson – Edgemont UMC, Florence
  • 2012 Mrs. Louise Woodall – Vestavia Hills UMC
  • 2013 Ann Neighbors – Alexander City First UMC and Joe Coughton – Trinity UMC (Huntsville)
  • 2014 John Mark “Bruno” Hughe – pictorial memoir of Camp Sumatanga Rest and Vision
  • 2015 Rev. Wylheme Ragland – archiving former Central Alabama Annual Conference
Discover, Develop and Deploy Spiritual Leaders to Make Disciples of Jesus Christ for the Transformation of the World.